Martindale Awards

Peer

Peer

AV Preeminent®: The highest peer rating standard. This rating signifies that a large number of the lawyer’s peers rank him or her at the highest level of professional excellence for their legal knowledge, communication skills and ethical standards.

Martindale Ratings

Average Peer Rating

Peer

4.6/5.0

Average Client Rating

Client

100% client recommended

Reviews (47)

Rating Reviews by date
5.0 / 5.0
2015-02-01 11:29:10

Efficient, honest, effective. Great lawyer.

— Peer 02/01/2015

4.8 / 5.0
2015-02-01 06:52:49

Ron is an excellent family lawyer who writes well and argues persuasively. His positive demeanor is an asset in both working toward resolution with opposing counsel and judges/mediators.

— Peer 02/01/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-02-10 12:24:05

an excellent, ethical, fair minded lawyer.

— Peer 02/10/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-02-09 09:57:15

No description provided

— Peer 02/09/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-02-09 09:37:26

No description provided

— Peer 02/09/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-02-09 06:36:14

No description provided

— Peer 02/09/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-01-27 08:54:27

No description provided

— Peer 01/27/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-01-27 08:53:26

No description provided

— Peer 01/27/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2011-09-25 18:48:25

All I can say is that Ron Champoux is a excellent attorney in all his Practice Areas, Truly Top Notch!

— Peer 09/25/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-08-30 22:21:49

No description provided

— Peer 08/30/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-08-14 18:23:23

No description provided

— Peer 08/14/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-08-13 21:51:23

My work with Ron has been limited, but I have found him to be ethical, intelligent, and willing to work in a collaborative and cooperative manner toward settlement without unnecessary adversarial stances.

— Peer 08/13/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-08-01 11:14:35

No description provided

— Peer 08/01/2011

4.8 / 5.0
2015-02-02 07:31:15

I had one challenging matter with Mr. Champoux and was very impressed with his advocacy on behalf of his client and his practical approach to resolving the dispute. I have since referred people to him who needed family law counsel in Marin county

— Peer 02/02/2015

4.6 / 5.0
2015-01-26 11:49:07

Ron is a good opposing counsel to work with. He's fair, reasonable and knowledgeable.

— Peer 01/26/2015

4.6 / 5.0
2011-08-24 10:49:17

Ron is an excellent lawyer who possesses the highest ethical standards.

— Peer 08/24/2011

4.6 / 5.0
2011-08-20 00:41:20

No description provided

— Peer 08/20/2011

4.4 / 5.0
2015-01-24 15:58:00

No description provided

— Peer 01/24/2015

4.0 / 5.0
2014-11-26 07:51:34

No description provided

— Peer 11/26/2014

4.0 / 5.0
2011-09-10 08:44:12

Fair minded & amiable lawyer

— Peer 09/10/2011

4.0 / 5.0
2011-08-30 22:26:30

No description provided

— Peer 08/30/2011

4.0 / 5.0
2011-08-20 00:41:56

No description provided

— Peer 08/20/2011

4.0 / 5.0
2011-08-15 13:16:49

No description provided

— Peer 08/15/2011

4.0 / 5.0
2011-07-28 09:07:39

No description provided

— Peer 07/28/2011

2.8 / 5.0
2011-08-15 11:57:21

No description provided

— Peer 08/15/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2014-09-30

Ron is a excellent attorney. He took the time to clearly explain/walk me through the legal process so I knew what was happening and what my options were. He was extremely responsive and always answered my concerns and questions in a timely manner. He is very professional & conscious of the costs involved and did his best to keep these down where possible. He exudes confidence/integrity , he is well respected. He will provide you with the best preparation & deliverance of your case possible

— Client 09/30/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2013-01-23

Ron is more sensitive and intelligent. Of the 7 family law attorneys with whom I have worked (on either side), none has even been comparable. His high-level guidance was invaluable as to what was worth pursuing and what was likely to be an expensive and draining exercise. His attention to detail was incredible. I trusted him explicitly during my difficult divorce. Having him on my side made me feel safe and glad that I wasn’t on the other side going against someone of his caliber.

— Client 01/23/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2012-04-16

The divorce proceedings were in regard to my daughter. Ron was understanding in my involvement to help my daughter through a difficult divorce. Ron did all that was possible within our court system to work within a difficult situation. Our Trust & Estate planning was done through Ron. It was done in a timely manner. All communication for documents needed was done in a fast responsive manner.

— Client 04/16/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-04-05

Ron and his associate Dan provided stellar representation. On short notice, beginning during the holidays, and later while I was hundreds of miles away on business, Ron and especially Dan were able to provide competent, coherent, professional, and very reasonable services. The written work product they gave me to review encapsulated my statements to them very eloquently - I literally couldn't have written it better myself. I recommend them without hesitation.

— Client 04/05/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2011-11-11

Ron represented me in my legal separation. My funds were very limited and he helped me to work within my budget. His non-confrontational but well-organized approach to doing business with the other attorneys involved in the case went a long way towards putting everyone at ease. As a result, we were able to work together to reach an agreement that was mutually acceptable and did not spend a great deal of time, effort, and money on adversarial behavior. Highly recommended.

— Client 11/11/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-06-04

The best family lawyer in Marin County. I made the mistake of hiring a family law attorney not familiar with the Marin County Courts. Thankfully not too late, through Sharon Ma, I was referred to Ron Champoux. What a champion! He was sharp,caring, smart, and a really effective advocate for me. Ron succeeded in obtaining a great custody result for my children, and child support that I did not expect. Divorce was so much more difficult than I expected. Having Ron on my side made a huge difference.

— Client 06/04/2011

4.8 / 5.0
2011-09-10

Ron represented me through my divorce 8 years ago and has worked with me over the years with visitation and support issues (post-divorce). He is extremely knowledgeable in estate and family law, quick (helps keep attorney fees down), concise, presents clear legal perspective to both the client and the court,is very personable, has a high level of integrity, etc. Of the 15 or more attorneys I saw speak while in the courtroom, Ron was the most professional, confident, clear, persuasive, eloquent.

— Client 09/10/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-05-20

Ron is an outstanding attorney. He is wonderful at explaining the legal process. He is highly competent and intelligent. He will fight for you if necessary, but always views court as the option of last resort. He is a tremendous negotiator.

— Client 05/20/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-05-25

I made the mistake of hiring a family law attorney not familiar with the Marin County Courts. When I realized this, thankfully not too late, through Sharon Ma, I was referred to Ron Champoux. He his sharp, caring, intelligent, and was a really effective advocate for me. Without compromising my position, Ron was constantly able to show me how to choose my battles wisely, and in doing so, kept my legal fees to a minimum. Having an attorney that knows the players, the lawyers and works with the Marin Courts is a must. Ron succeeded in obtaining a great custody result for my children, and child support that I did not expect. Divorce was so much more difficult then I had ever imagined, especially having children, and having Ron on my side made a huge difference.

— Client 05/25/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-06-02

I have used Ron Champoux’s legal services on three occasions. Each time he was extremely professional, patiently answered my questions and pointedly looked out for my best interests. His advice allowed me to make major life-changing decisions that, while using his guidance, I was able to implement in a time-frame that worked to my advantage. He was very conscious of the costs involved and worked diligently to keep his fees as low as reasonably possible. I am pleased to give him my highest recommendation.

— Client 06/02/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-09-08

Ron has handled a couple of cases for me over the past 14 years. Initially it was my divorce. More recently it involved child support concerning my daughter. These were not easy cases to handle since my ex is an attorney herself well versed with the law. In both cases Ron did a great job educating me and walking me through the process so I clearly understood what was happening and what to expect. He took the time to keep me well informed throughout and to answer all of my questions, always with patience. Ron is also very much the straight shooter type who will give you the facts (good and bad) so you know what to expect. In both cases the outcome was fair and about as good as what I would hope for and I knew he put my interests first. I highly recommend Ron.

— Client 09/08/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-09-11

Ron represented me through my divorce 8 years ago, and has worked with me over the years with visitation and support issues (post-divorce). He is extremely knowledgeable in estate and family law, quick (helps keep attorney fees down), concise, presents clear legal perspective to both the client and the court, is very personable, has a high level of integrity, etc. Of the 15 or more attorneys I saw speak while in the courtroom, Ron was the most professional - confident, clear, persuasive, eloquent. It is evident his peers and superiors respect him as well. After my referral of Ron, five of my friends hired him as their attorney. I highly recommend Ron as your attorney.

— Client 09/11/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-09-14

Ron has handled family law questions for myself and for my mother. I have also recommended him to a friend who was very satisfied. We have found him to be knowledgeable and professional and always very able to assist us with all our questions. I will continue to recommend to anyone as an excellent resource for creating a will/living will.

— Client 09/14/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-11-11

Ron represented me in my legal separation. My funds were very limited and he helped me to work within my budget. His non-confrontational but well-organized approach to doing business with the other attorneys involved in the case went a long way towards putting everyone at ease. As a result, we were able to work together to reach an agreement that was mutually acceptable and did not spend a great deal of time, effort, and money on adversarial behavior. I found Ron to be personable, persistent, well-informed, ethical, flexible and compassionate. I would recommend him without hesitation. Liked: Disliked:

— Client 11/11/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-12-30

Ron was my divorce attorney and helped me with all the aspects of the divorce in the last 1.5 years. Like many other divorces mine was very stressful and complicated. Ron helped me through this difficult process patiently. He tried hard to avoid unnecessary escalations and tried to resolve issues in a fair way. He explained things to me well so I knew my options and could make informed decisions. When he had to escalate things and present it to the court he did an excellent job representing me and my case. He is very knowledgeable, approachable, organized and is a great negotiator. He returns calls and emails in a timely manner and keeps you informed at all times. Ron is an excellent attorney and I highly recommend him whether you have a complicated family issue or a simple one.

— Client 12/30/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2012-04-05

Ron and his associate Dan provided stellar representation. I don't give professional compliments easily, and I work with lawyers in my "day job," so I feel qualified and credible - I know what I'm talking about. On short notice, beginning during the holidays, and later while I was hundreds of miles away on business, Ron and especially Dan were able to provide competent, coherent, professional, and very reasonable services. We were working with some pretty tricky and nuanced child support add-ons. The written work product they gave me to review encapsulated my statements to them very eloquently - I literally couldn't have written it better myself. Although I was paying for expertise and legal counseling, what I received in addition, more than anything else, was peace of mind. They "get it." I recommend them without hesitation. I will continue to work with them if new issues arise and expect to refer new clients to them when the opportunities/needs arise. After my hearing date they received from me modest but heartfelt thank-you gifts. Hopefully that gives you some idea of how grateful I was to have them "in my corner."

— Client 04/05/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-12-08

I can not say enough good things about Ron Champoux's abilities as an attorney! He was knowledgeable, conscientious and always on target with his advice. He made a terrible situation much more tolerable. The best part is that he was always available at a moments notice to take care of any necessary items that may come up.

— Client 12/08/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2013-01-23

Ron is more sensitive and intelligent than the vast majority of family law attorneys. Of the seven family law attorneys with whom I have worked (on either side), none has even been comparable. His high-level guidance was invaluable as to what was worth pursuing and what was likely to be an expensive and draining exercise. His attention to detail was incredible. I trusted him explicitly during my difficult divorce. Having him on my side made me feel safe and glad that I wasn’t on the other side going against someone of his caliber. He cares about his clients, has a great deal of personal integrity and perspective, and is a pleasure to work with. Whichever side finds and hires Ron first in a divorce is the lucky side.

— Client 01/23/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-03-26

I have recently been a client of the Law Offices of Ronald Champoux. Ron, and his staff, are highly knowledgeable in the field of family law. I came to him with quite a difficult case, involving estate planning, divorce proceedings, premarital agreement, and inheritance rights all rolled into one extremely difficult puzzle. At the outset, Ron, who is very soft spoken and extremely polite and friendly, immediately put me at my ease. He researched my case with a mastery of family law. He cuts to the chase of what matters and what does not, saving time and money. I believe he is highly respected by his peers. His skill at negotiating for his clients' rights' is amazing. He is extremely reasonable, but can be tough if the need arises. I came out with a very fair and reasonable settlement. I am not sure my results would have been nearly as good if it weren't for Ron and his very experienced, friendly and caring staff. I cannot recommend The Law Offices of Ronald Champoux highly enough.

— Client 03/26/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2014-05-16

Ron Champoux was recommended to me by my business attorney to handle my divorce case. That was very fortunate. Ron clearly knows the law and better still what to expect from the court. He was able to predict with a high level of accuracy how the court might decide an issue, and develop a legal strategy around it. I respect that he never once spoke disparagingly of my ex-wife and did not foment friction. Unfortunately my ex-wife's attorney did the opposite. Ron Champoux was a step or two ahead of my ex-wife's attorney at every juncture. I could also see that Ron had garnered the respect of the court (Judge Beverly Wood) and was clearly liked by everyone, including opposing counsel. He's basically a nice guy who is very competent, treats everyone with respect and gets it back. I witnessed the value of having an attorney that the court respects. His personal integrity is a given in the courtroom and his representations carry weight. He makes honest statements and winning arguments. My case was very litigious because my ex-wife's attorney was money hungry, hostile and unethical. Ron was able to deftly thwart the other side's aggression and shady tactics. He also very importantly explained the court's attitude toward entitlement and hard work. The Marin County Family Court is dominated by successful women who have balanced career and family, and do not agree that a spouse is entitled to a free ride while the other works. Ron understood that basic concept and the court's propensity for it and I was better served. It makes a big difference having an ethical attorney who thinks well on his feet. Ronald Champoux saved me at least a half million dollars in settlement and perhaps over a million. So obviously I'm a big fan. Ron has mastered the nuances of managing a case, which means you are buying a high level of legal expertise and good sense. If you're looking for an attorney who will scorch the earth, then keep looking. But if you're looking for an attorney with class who knows how to win, then Ron Champoux is your guy.

— Client 05/16/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-08-06

Ron Champoux is an excellent attorney. From the first time we met, I could tell I was in good hands. Ron explained every step in detail about the process, many times if necessary, all with patience and kindness. Over a year ago , I hired Ron to handle my divorce. His mastery of the law combined with his trustworthy character, insured I obtained the best settlement. I can recommend Ron to anyone.

— Client 08/06/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-09-30

Ron Champoux was invaluable as my attorney in the area of child custody/visitation. I had a extremely complex/complicated case . Ron did his best to explain the law , my options & the the most intelligent way to get the results I desired. He is extremely trustworthy, decent, honest & knowledgable. His attention to detail in his preparation & deliverance was impressive , this along with his confidence and knowledge of the law was why I got the results I wanted ( as impossible as they were! ). If it can be done Ron will get you the results you want. As they say , you get what you pay for & Ron is worth his weight in Gold.

— Client 09/30/2014